May 21, 2024

Earl Woods Scholar Program announces 2024 recipients, inaugural Philadelphia cohort

TGR Foundation recently welcomed 18 high school students to its Earl Woods Scholar Program including five seniors in the inaugural Philadelphia cohort.  

The program supports students from their junior or senior year of high school throughout college graduation and holds a 98% graduation rate. In addition to a financial scholarship, TGR Foundation provides each student with annual workshops, internship placement assistance and a dedicated mentor during the four years of their undergraduate careers.  

“We couldn’t be more excited to welcome the inaugural Philadelphia cohort and all the newest members to our Earl Woods Scholar family,” said Cristina Fernández, vice president of programs. “We had outstanding candidates in every region.”  

The Earl Woods Scholar Program was created in 2006 to honor the vision and spirit of Earl Woods, Tiger’s late father, and mentor, to continue his legacy of caring and sharing. In addition to holding one of the highest graduation rates among scholarship programs in the United States, the National Scholarship Association has also recognized the program for its impact.  

With the expansion of the TGR Learning Lab to Philadelphia in partnership with Cobbs Creek Foundation, the city was a natural fit for the next region of the Earl Woods Scholar Program. Since inception, it has supported scholars in Orange County, CA, the Washington, D.C., Virginia, Maryland region and Los Angeles.  

In a welcome gathering where they learned of their acceptance, John Lee, senior vice president of programs shared pride in their milestones as graduates and the first cohort of Philadelphia scholars.  

“Not only are you representing yourselves, your families and your communities,” he said. “you’re representing Philly, and I’m just so excited for you to work with this team. There’s an amazing group of folks who were here to support you and want to see you succeed. At times, it might feel like you’re alone, just know that you never are.”  

The scholars selected this year join 15 scholars from the Orange County cohort, which will complete the 27 members in the class of 2028. 

The Earl Woods Scholar High School Class of 2024 gather for a photo during the annual graduation celebration.

I’m really glad to be welcomed into the Earl Woods Scholar Program,” said Adijared Huerta of the Los Angeles cohort. “I look forward to the next four years with the endorsement that I received from all of the staff.” 

For more information about the Earl Woods Scholar Program and opportunities to get involved, visit   


Earl Woods Scholar Class of 2028 


Washington D.C., Maryland and Virginia 

Elyana Belete, Colgate University

Amirahimaan Kalonji, Dartmouth College

Zelea Roberson, Louisiana State University


Hadas Ali, Trinity College

Gerard Heard, Pennsylvania State University

Victoire Ehinnou, University of Chicago

Sarmad Mera, University of Michigan

Rasheed Wiley, Temple University

Los Angeles

Johnny Chacon-Alfaro, University of California, Berkeley

Oscar Flores, University of California, Los Angeles

Adijared Huerta, University of Pennsylvania

Yosharelli Santillano, University of Pennsylvania

Orange County*

Zeenat Ahmad, University of California, Irvine

Esmeralda Alba, Chapman University

Sofia Arias, College of the Holy Cross

Daniel Arroyo, Davidson College

Daniel Barragan, University of Notre Dame

Brianna Cerna, University of Southern California

Brenda Duran-Velazco, University of Southern California

William Gonzales, Chapman University

Mia Gonzalez, Columbia University

Monica Martinez, University of California, San Diego

Jordan Nguyen, Claremont McKenna College

Ruth Nguyen, University of California, San Diego

Emmanuel Oluwasesin, University of California, Santa Barbara

Griselda Solano, University of Notre Dame

Alexis Vazquez, Boston College


Orange County Class of 2029*

Rachel Aldaco, Santa Ana High School

Matthew Dinh, Oxford Academy

Christine Kim, Cypress High School

Takenosuke Nagata, Anaheim High School

Ashley Tapia, Katella Ana High School

*The Orange County cohort of scholars is selected as high school juniors.